Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs theory in relation to consumer behavior

In Uncategorized on October 19, 2011 by urcalendar

Maslow thought that there are five levels in the human needs, from the basic to the highest level are Physiological needs, Safety needs, Social needs, Esteem needs, and Self-actualization need. The most fundamental and basic four layers of the pyramid contain what Maslow called “deficiency needs” or “d-needs”.The basic level must be met before the individual will strongly desire (or focus motivation upon) the secondary or higher level needs.

It also can be used as the consumer motivation. Consumer buying behavior is based on the unsatisfied needs, those unsatisfied needs will stimulate consumer to increase their buying motivation. For example, lots of people have a desire on luxury products, because it can satisfy their Self-actualization need. Therefore, marketers have to investigate and to understand what kinds of product that consumer required and produce different kind of products to satisfy the consumer needs. According to Maslow’s hierarchy, seller should produce the product which can meet the basic needs of consumers, and then increase the value of the products, let the consumer can be met by the products.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: